Officers and Officials

Honorary Life President: Derek Holden

Derek Holden was born in Southport, educated at King George V School, and joined Hesketh Golf Club in 1950.  He became the Club’s youngest captain in 1967 and was invited to be captain again in 1985, the Club’s centenary year. He served on the Council for fifteen consecutive years, five years as Chairman, and in 1989 was honoured with Life Membership, to be followed by Honorary Life Presidency in 2006.  Having been proposed by Arnold Bentley, he was delighted when, in 1982, he was accepted for membership of the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews.  He was elected President of the Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs in 1997 and has served on their Executive ever since.
A keen amateur photographer, he has taken many of the photographs that record the history of the golf club, some of which are to be seen in various locations within the clubhouse. 
In 2012 he played an important role in launching a successful appeal to acquire what had become known as the Hitler Trophy, probably the most important artifact in the history of Hesketh Golf Club.

  Gentlemen's Captain: Darren C. Wilson

Darren Wilson has been a member of Hesketh Golf Club for nearly 35 years.

Plays off a handicap of 3.1 and in addition to Captain, is also the Junior Organiser. 

Darren was born in Southport and attended local schools and colleges.

His children all play golf and is married to Jane, who is a non golfing widow!

Two of their children have been Junior Captain at Hesketh Golf Club in past years.

He worked in the public sector for most of his life, mainly working in the North West.

He describes himself as being very competitive and as his children have all grown up, has had to accept they hit it further and can shoot lower scores!

A list of all our previous Gentlemen's Captains is available - Please click here.

  Ladies' Captain: Nuala Robinson

Nuala was born in Crosby and went to school locally at Seafield Preparatory School then Seafield Grammar school.

After A levels, in 1975 Nuala went to Trinity and All Saints College in Leeds to gain a B’Ed degree in Art, Photography and Education.

Her first teaching post was at St Edmund Arrowsmith High School in Prescot as a ceramics teacher. Then in 1982 Nuala moved to teach Art at Greenbank High School for Girls in Southport. Her career in teaching included Art, Design Technology and  nearly 20 years as a Pastoral leader as Head of Year and Head of Lower School until her retirement in 2016.

Nuala married Bryan in 1983 and they have 2 daughters. Last year Nuala and Bryan celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary.

Squash, swimming and dancing have been a large part of Nuala’s life, starting as a member of The Northern Club in Crosby, the West Lancs Squash Club in Southport and then The Victoria Sports Club.

Then in 2006 golf became the activity of choice, learning at Leisure Lakes and becoming a member of Hesketh Golf Club in 2009.Although still teaching full-time Nuala was able to enjoy golf on a Saturday at Hesketh, playing with other Ladies who were 7 day members, and joining the Ladies Competitions on a Tuesday during the school holidays.

Nuala has represented Hesketh as part of the Ladies teams for a number of years, acting as team Captain for the Bronze team for 3 years then in 2021 held office as Ladies Secretary for 2 years before being given the honour of being Ladies Captain in 2024.

A list of all our previous Ladies' Captains is available -  Please click here.

  Juniors' Captain: Sophie rutherford

Sophie was born in Santander, Spain in 2006. Sophie’s mother is Spanish and the family hail from Santander which is also where the great Seve Ballesteros originated from! 

Sophie’s dad is from Southport and this is where Sophie’s love of golf started from the age of 10 before joining Hesketh in 2020.  

Since then she has represented Hesketh in the Junior SDGA summer league during the last two seasons and is honoured to play her final year as a Hesketh Junior Captain. Her hopes for the year are to enjoy her golf and try to get to a single figure handicap. 

Sophie attended Greenbank High School and is currently continuing her studies at Cardinal Newman College, where she is doing A-levels in Chemistry, Maths and Spanish. 

A list of all our previous Juniors' Captains is available -  Please click here.


Board of Directors:

  • Roy Sinclair (Chair of Board)
  • Jeff Cummins (Finance Director)
  • Melvyn Kamel (Membership & Marketing Director)
  • Julie Scott (Handicap & Competitions Director)
  • Dave Harrison (Compliance Director)
  • Ian Clark (Green Director)
  • Meegan Switzer (Hospitality Director)

Green Committee:

  • Ian Clark (Green Director)
  • Peter McVicar (Course Manager
  • Martin Edge (Club Secretary Manager)

Membership & Marketing Committee:

  • Melvyn Kamel (Membership & Marketing Director)
  • Martin Edge (Club Secretary Manager)
  • Jon Main
  • Harry Ormesher

Ladies' Committee:

  • To follow
  • To follow
  • To follow

Junior Committee:

  • Scott Astin (Professional)
  • Jane Coulthard (Club Welfare Officer)
  • Martin Edge (Club Secretary Manager)
  • Darren Wilson (Junior Organiser)
  • Sophie Rutherford (Junior Captain)

Heritage Committee

  • Keith Hick  (Club Historian)
  • Derek Holden (Honorary Life President)
  • Denise McInerney
  • Bradley Ormesher

Handicap Committee:

  • Julie Scott (Handicap & Competitions Director)
  • Phil Rosenthal
  • Barry Hornsby
  • John Moss
  • Jane Coulthard
  • Angela Grugel
  • Martyn Senior

Social Committee:

  • Meegan Switzer (Hospitality Director)
  • Darren Wilson (Gentlemen's Captain)
  • Nuala Robinson (Ladies' Captain)
  • Martin Edge (Club Secretary Manager)
  • Karen Courtney (Hospitality Manager)

The Gentlemen’s Captain, Ladies’ Captain, Chair, Finance Director and Club Secretary Manager are members of all committees.